Tags

, , ,

Chocolate has always been my dessert of choice. I was never into the sugary, sweet candy as a child. As I’ve gotten older my taste has changed to crave darker chocolate, the darker the better. On Valentines Day though, it seems that the general public craves sweet and gooey. At my restaurant the most popular dessert has been the Red Velvet Cupcake. I HATE the Red Velvet Cake! It’s not necessarily the flavor, but that really fake, bright red, food color. I wanted to create my own red velvet cake, but take it one step further and turn it into a lava cake. As you can tell by the picture above, I failed at the “red” part. I guess food color is in red velvet cake for a reason! When I searched Google for a cake that didn’t include food color, almost every recipe used beet juice. Now, I do love beets, but I wanted something a little more sexy for V-day. I think raspberries are over done, and strawberries are just not vibrant enough, so I went with the pomegranate. Not only are they in season right now, but they are also an aphrodesiac…perfect for Valentines. I also happened to have a Chocolove chocolate bar, so I just had to use that.   I started with a basic Chocolate Lava Cake recipe, but then altered it to include less sugar and compensated for sweetness with reduced pomegranate juice (a syrup). The overall effect was a rich chocolate, gooey mess with an underlying flavor of tartness and fruit. Perfect for February 14th!

Chocolate Pomegranate Lava Cake
Yield: 4 Servings (4 oz ea)

32 oz Pomegranate Juice (I used Trader Joes)
4 oz Dark Chocolate (I used Chocolove Dark Chocolate 65%)
4 oz Butter – Unsalted
3 Egg Yolks
1 Egg – Whole
1/3 cup Sugar
2 tsp Flour (plus more for dusting)
Pomegranate Seeds for Garnish

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450F. Reduce Pomegranate Juice on stove until it is syrupy and there is about 2/3 of a cup.  
  2. In a double boiler melt the chocolate and butter.  
  3. Whisk all eggs, 1/3 cup reduced pomegranate juice, and sugar. The mixture should be thick.  
  4. Add the egg mixture to the chocolate/butter mixture (it should still be a little warm). Quickly whisk in the flour.  
  5. Butter and flour 4 – 4 oz ramekins that are oven safe. Divide the batter between the ramekins, they should be about 2/3 full. (At this point you can refrigerate the ramekins and bake the cakes when you like, just make sure they come back up to room temp before baking). Bake for 9-11 minutes. Check the cakes after 9 minutes. You want the cakes to be pretty set around the edges, but is ok to still be a little “jiggly” in the middle.  
  6. Let cool for about 3 minutes and then run a knife around the edge to loosen. Carefully turn ramekins upside down on plate and let sit for 30 seconds before un-molding. Garnish with leftover pomegranate syrup and pomegranate seeds. Serve immediately.  
