Tags

, , , , ,

What’s better than homemade granola? How about homemade granola mixed with butter and sugar and baked into delicious cookies? I don’t know why I have never tried combining the two before. I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and this just takes them to the next level. The cookie still has a chewy, buttery texture, but also crunch from the nuts and sweetness from the chewy bits of dried fruit. For these cookies I used my homemade Ode to Portland Granola, which has hazelnuts, coconut, figs, and almonds. I based the recipe on the basic Quaker Oats oatmeal cookies, but I reduced the butter and sugar because I thought the granola cookies should be a bit healthier. 

“But how can they be healthier when you throw in handfuls of chocolate?”- do you ask. Well, they’re not. I just like the illusion that they are healthier. That way I feel justified when eating them! I mean the granola does add good fats, right? Coconut, flax-seed, almonds. The chocolate is important though, at least in our house. One rule my husband has is if fresh cookies are made, then chocolate chips must be had. It may sound weird that every cookie baked in my house has chocolate chips in it. But if you knew me and my husband, you would know how much we love chocolate chips.

When I was growing up, my mom always had a giant Costco sized bag of Nestle chocolate chips that she would store in the freezer. They were always there for whenever she needed to throw together a quick batch of cookies or brownies for some sort of school or soccer function (yes she was a soccer mom). My obsession started innocently by eating a couple of tablespoons when ever we baked. As I grew older though I would sneak into the freezer and eat a handful after dinner. And when I was in high school and was at home by myself in the afternoon, down went another handful. This habit did not end when I moved out of my parent’s house. My college roommates (all 7 of them) can tell you exactly whose bag of chocolate chips that was in the freezer. So when my husband and I started dating, I didn’t even try to hide the fact that I was a chocolate chip whore. I think maybe it took him all of 2 seconds to ask for his own handful, and I knew it was love! So since then, we have always had a bag of chocolate chips in our freezer (and we have moved on from Nestle – our favorite actually is the Trader Joes brand, even over Callebaut), and when they are not being eaten by the handful, we will even use them for their intended purpose…baking.

Granola Cookies
Makes: 36 small cookies

6 oz (3/4 cup) Butter – unsalted, softened
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Sugar in the Raw (or granulated)
2 Eggs
1/2 tsp Vanilla
1 1/2 cup All Purpose Flour
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Baking Soda
Pinch Salt
1 3/4 cup Granola*
1/2 cup Chocolate Chips

*I used my homemade Ode to Portland Granola

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350F. Beat butter, brown sugar, and raw sugar together until light and fluffy.
  2. Add eggs one at time, beating after each addition. Add the vanilla and mix.
  3. Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl. With the mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until just combined.
  4. Stir in the granola and the chocolate chips. Drop rounded tablespoons on an oiled sheet tray (or lined with parchment). Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

